Note: add new eth device
Gutsy also has no /etc/iftab. I disabled this behavior in two steps:
(1) Edit /etc/udev//rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules
(1.1) comment out or delete all the lines beginning with SUBSYSTEM==”net”
(2) Edit /etc/udev/rules.d/75-persistent-net-generator.rules
(2.1) comment out or delete these two lines:
ACTION==”add”, SUBSYSTEM==”net”, KERNEL==”eth*|ath*|wlan*|ra*|sta*” \
NAME!=”?*”, DRIVERS==”?*”, GOTO=”persistent_net_generator_do”
Deleting these two files would probably work, but I haven’t tried that myself.

Note: add new eth deviceGutsy also has no /etc/iftab. I disabled this behavior in two steps:
(1) Edit /etc/udev//rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules
(1.1) comment out or delete all the lines beginning with SUBSYSTEM==”net”
(2) Edit /etc/udev/rules.d/75-persistent-net-generator.rules
(2.1) comment out or delete these two lines:ACTION==”add”, SUBSYSTEM==”net”, KERNEL==”eth*|ath*|wlan*|ra*|sta*” \NAME!=”?*”, DRIVERS==”?*”, GOTO=”persistent_net_generator_do”
Deleting these two files would probably work, but I haven’t tried that myself.